Family History Research

Talented Tuesday – Presentation Time

on March 29, 2011

Well in just over a week I will be giving my first genealogy presentation in years and years. This is also the first one since I started my Generations business last summer. Let’s be honest, I love to research, read and write. Plus I’m really good at that. Public speaking has not been a favorite pastime for me ever. I’m sure once I make it through this first presentation I will probably think about creating another one. At least that’s what Thomas MacEntee told me when I told him I was doing this months ago and was nervous about it. He said I may really enjoy presenting. We’ll see. I trust Thomas and know he would not steer me in the wrong direction.

I will be presenting April 9th at the Fountaindale Public Library’s Genealogy Day. I’m the first presenter. My presentation is “Visualizing Your Genealogical Data” and showing people how to use Excel, OneNote, Maps, and Blogging to view your data differently to break down brick walls and further research.

Here’s hoping it all goes smoothly!

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 responses to “Talented Tuesday – Presentation Time

  1. You will do well, because you will know your material well. That is the secret to presentations. If you know your material cold… with all variations and able to handle ‘glitches’ because YOU KNOW WHAT YOU ARE DOING… you will do fine. And, that comes from practice. Don’t just ‘wing’ it – as I know you won’t. You will enjoy it, because you are talking about what you love to do. I taught this to my university students. It was real easy to distinguish between the ones who were well prepared and the ones who were not. You will be prepared. Enjoy it. You will be doing it many, many time. ;-)

  2. [...] Talented Tuesday – Presentation Time (familyhistorytips.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

