Family History Research

Lesson 6 of NGS HSC

on August 12, 2011

Antonia and Josef Subrt in Bohemian National Cemetery, Chicago

Wednesday was a whirlwind day of genealogy research and travel all over Chicagoland. I started my day at Bohemian National Cemetery and looked up some graves for a couple of clients. One client’s family was buried in Section 15. I knew I had family there but couldn’t remember who off the top of my head until I walked in one corner of the section and there were my great grandparents, Anna and Frank Brouk. Said good morning to them and walked on looking for the client’s family.

Passed by my great great grandparents Josef and Antonia Subrt and a few cousins from the Vit, Kratky and Oul/Aul families. At the opposite end of the section from my Brouk family were the client’s family.

My next stop was across the street at IRAD. Did you know the meters there are 30 minutes only? Yep! Thankfully I had a list of two marriage certificates I wanted and knew I needed a couple examples of 1871-ish licenses for my NGS HSC assignment. The IRAD intern was almost 10 minutes late, leaving me 20 minutes to finish, pay for my copies and run back to the car. I did it! Gave the intern the dates and numbers of the certificates and he quickly pulled the films. I asked for a roll with 1871-ish certificates and he gave me that as well.

Now all that is left to do is scan in those licenses I copied and finish my assignment. I hope to accomplish this tonight or tomorrow morning. Once I submit it I will have five lessons to go!  Progress is exciting!

Enhanced by Zemanta
One response to “Lesson 6 of NGS HSC

  1. [...] Lesson 6 of NGS HSC (familyhistorytips.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

