Family History Research

Share your story on this National Day of Listening

on November 26, 2010

Today is StoryCorps’ National Day of Listening. Have you made plans to interview and record the story of a loved one? Do you have a story you would like to share here today? Feel free to share in the comments and stop by my Chicago Family History blog to see what others are sharing over there.

Here is a story I will share.

Yes, there is a Santa Claus

Six years ago, in 2004, my husband and I were trying to have another child. We had one absolutely amazing son who was three and desperately wanted to give him a sibling. We spent the better part of the year trying to conceive through IVF. My husband had cancer and this was our only option to have any more kids. After three attempts, twins lost and a singleton lost early on in those pregnancies we thought all hope was lost. We told everyone we were done trying but went ahead for one more attempt. The embryos were inserted a couple weeks before Christmas. We took our son into downtown Chicago to do holiday stuff, visit Nordstrom’s to see Santa and the Lego store. The Santa at Nordstrom’s that year was absolutely the real Santa Claus. My son sat on his lap and asked him for a brother or sister for Christmas. Santa looked at me and smiled with a twinkle in his eye. He asked my son what else he wanted for Christmas, gave him a hug and a candy cane and we were off. A couple of days before Christmas Eve we found out we were indeed pregnant and my numbers were very high. So high in fact I felt hopeful I would keep that pregnancy and wondered if it was more than one baby. A few days after Christmas I had an ultrasound that revealed two tiny babies. Those two babies were born in August of 2005 and our family was complete. I believe Santa is real. I believe miracles happen and at that time of year, anything is possible. Even seeing the real Santa Claus.

What is your story?

One response to “Share your story on this National Day of Listening

  1. Hi, Jennifer. I like your story very much. You can read my take on National Day of Listening at http://www.haikudoodle.wordpress.com. Best, Margaret

Leave a Reply

