Family History Research

A visit to IRAD at NIU

on August 17, 2010

I visited the IRAD at NIU (Northern IL University) in DeKalb yesterday. My experience there was slightly different than my experience at IRAD at NEIU last month. At NIU, IRAD has a policy that you are only allowed to use one roll of microfilm at a time. When you are finished with that one, they will give you another roll. They also only have one microfilm machine in the reading room. The intern I worked with was very helpful and answered all my questions.

I much prefer to be given several rolls of film at a time so when I’m finished with one, I can go directly to another roll without wasting the time of getting up and down and waiting to be given the next roll, or as one case yesterday, waiting while the intern went to the basement to get a Probate book for me to look at. I waited at least 15 minutes for her to return and in that time I could have finished looking up the other records I wanted.

That was my experience yesterday.

Leave a Reply

