Family History Research

Follow Friday – Great Blog Posts

on July 30, 2010

There is a new blog I came across on the Illinois State Genealogical Society Blog called Chicago History Celebrating the Unique History and Culture of Chicago through Vintage Images. If you love Chicago History, take a look.

This week I read several great blog posts I would like to share with you.

Pawprints Guiding Me to the Past – Money Saving tips for requesting records. Melissa gives great tips on how to do genealogy without spending a lot of money.

Sassy Jane Genealogy – Tombstone Tuesday – Lt. George W. Owen Jr. This post has many great resources for obtaining WWII records. Read the comments for an additional source.

Dr. Bill Tell’s Ancestor Stories – Worldless (Nearly) Wednesday – Slate to Kindle. I love reading Dr. Bill’s posts and this one drew an interesting parallel between the old school slates to the new Kindle’s on the market today. This post reminded me to not only look at the “old” but “new” as well and try to make other connections like this.

AnceStories: The Stories of my Ancestors – FamilySearch Record Search News. Have you used FamilySearch yet? If not, they are adding many new records on a consistent basis. Check them out regularly because you might find something interesting that wasn’t there before!

3 responses to “Follow Friday – Great Blog Posts

  1. Thank you for mentioning my Wordless (nearly) Wednesday post on the slate and the Kindle! Neat! ;-)

  2. I am so glad that I found you on Geneabloggers. I now intend to go back and read your earlier posts. I would love to take a genealogy class at the Newberry library like you did. Are there residency restrictions? Many of my ancestors lived in Chicago, and I frequently look at the online Newberry site, ChicagoAncestors.org. Now, tell me how I can get the Catholic school records? Thanks for a great blog. . . Margel

    • Jen says:

      Hi Margel,

      There are no residency restrictions on taking classes at the Newberry. You just register online or by phone or mail and show up.

      Have you seen Grace DuMelle’s book “Finding Your Chicago Ancestors”? It is a wonderful resource about Chicago records. For the Catholic school records, you would need to contact the Archdiocese of Chicago’s Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Archives and Records Center. There is a fee per name search and info on their website: http://archives.archchicago.org.

      I also blog about Chicago Family History here if you are interested: http://chicagofamilyhistory.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

