Family History Research

Need some help

on July 1, 2010

I am trying to find a resource online regarding the burial process of World War I soldiers in France so I can finish the life story of my Michael Kokoska and submit it for publication. I have Googled lots of search options and am not finding what I want. Has anyone come across a resource I can use?

I put in a request for a book through Interlibrary Loan called Soldier Dead so I will have that resource, but if I am able to find something sooner, that would be great. I’m feeling the momentum to get this finished.

Thanks!

One response to “Need some help

  1. Have you looked at: After The Ruins: Restoring the Countryside of Northern France after the Great War, by: Hugh Clout
    Available through amazon, excerpt from google books on page 295: http://books.google.com/books?id=nSprHxTuXdAC&pg=PA295&dq=burial+process+of+World+War+I+soldiers+in+France&hl=en&ei=7MksTIKVKIX6lweJl93KCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=7&ved=0CEoQ6AEwBg

    World War I by Jennifer D. Keene (see page 192)
    http://books.google.com/books?id=08daqUsn7PEC&pg=PA192&dq=burial+soldiers+WWI+France&hl=en&ei=cMssTOupDIH7lwf_haiYCg&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2&ved=0CDUQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q&f=false

    Or maybe,
    Funerals, politics, and memory in modern France, 1789-1996 by Avner Ben-Amos

    or
    Handbook of Death and Dying, by Clinton D. Bryant (p. 160)
    http://books.google.com/books?id=3z9EpgisKOgC&pg=PA160&dq=burial+soldiers+WWI+France&hl=en&ei=q8ssTILzD4XGlQfIisHiCQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2&ved=0CDIQ6AEwATgK#v=onepage&q&f=false

    I found a lot of possible results using the search phrase “burial soldiers WWI France” in Google Books

    Good luck

    Melissa

Leave a Reply

